My Nana

It has been a few days since my last post. I have been working a lot lately. After a sixteen hour shift blogging isn’t really on my mind.I have what could be considered a stressful job. I am pretty ok with it considering I come home to this.

My ladies. My house is full of love. This is something I am very proud of. There are a lot of factors that make up my wonderful life, and who I am. One the people who taught me all about a great life was my Nana (my Da’s mama).

My Nana is truly an amazing woman. She lived through a Great Depression, a World War, Raised four children and took in countless others. She is the type of person that would never turn away a person in need, and would do anything she could to ensure they had the help they needed. She has been there for countless people in their darkest hour and had what seemed like an infinite number of second chances to give them.

She never had a bad thing to say about anyone and always had positive thoughts about bad situations. (I like to think a lot of that has rubbed off on me.) All of my Da’s Siblings lived around Nana. So my cousins and my siblings grew up a few feet from the same love they had growing up. Her house was always a place we would congregate for breakfasts and holiday dinners. Her house is full of happy memories for me.

I never knew her husband, he passed away when I was one. However, she often spoke about him to me. Telling me how much I had in common with the man. She also taught me a lot of my beliefs about death and passing. She always told me to try not to mourn the persons death, but to try and celebrate their life. To remember all the good things they contributed to your life. Death is a natural thing, and something we will all face one day, she would tell me.

“Tis a poor thing to fear the inevitable”

My Nana appears to be on her way out. I will spare you the details, but she does not have that much longer with us. The fact just hit me today. I am about to take Rose by there and visit for a little bit.

I love her very much, and I will miss her. She will not be forgotten though. I will tell Rose the countless stories I have of my Nana and everything she taught me in her life.

This entry was posted in daddy green, death, Family, Nana. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Nana

  1. anyahusky says:

    She sounds like a wonderful woman!!! She will me missed Josh! I’m sorry you are going through this! Please let us know if we can help you in any way!!! We are here for you guys!!!

  2. Beautifully said, sir, as always, with great sincerity and authenticity. If I may be so bold to say such a thing, it seems clear that your Nana will live on in you and, very truly, through you. Thanks for sharing this with us.

  3. She sounds like an amazing woman. I’m so sorry, it’s so hard to lose someone ❤

  4. Andrea says:

    I’m so sorry, I can imagine how rough this is for you. I lost my Nana when I was much younger, and my daughter never got to know her, but her memory lives on. Hugs to you.

  5. DONNAGREENBARTON says:

    Saw her yesterday. For me, it is difficult to even go into that house. The people Nana has chosen to surround her self with, has kept me away, for the most part, for several years. The memories tied to that house are difficult as well. I remember Paw when he was sick sitting in the recliner in the living room and then losing him. I remember when the entire family would gather into her home and enjoy one of her scrumptious gravy and biscuit breakfasts and all of the holidays that were happy memories before we lost Tommy and things started going downhill. I wish that those memories had continued, but we all made choices that put us at odds with some of the family who I think defiled that house and all that was in it. I just hate the wasted years, but I hope that her last days are tolerable for her and that her passing will be comfortable. Regardless of all the drama over the years, she is the matriarch of an amazing family and deserves to be remembered as such. As we have said before, the Greens are a hard bunch to love, but we all love each other anyway. Thanks for this post Josh.

Leave a Reply

