Fiction reveals truths that reality obscures.

I love stories. I think my self a good story teller, (you would not know it from here) even though I am not a good writer. I also love books, so long as they can grab me from the beginning. I am going to post my top ten books. The ones I could read over and over.

1. The Hobbit-J.R.R. Tolkien

2. Gates of Fire- Steven Pressfield

3.Virtues of War- Steven Pressfield

4. Treasure Island- Robert Louis Stevenson

5. The last of The Mohicans- Robert Louis Stevenson

6. Frankenstein- Mary Shelly

7.The Count of Monte Cristo- Alexander Dumas

8. Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde- Robert Louis Stevenson

9. The Red Badge of Courage- Stephen Crane

10. Fortune’s Favorites- Colleen McCullough

Those are all pretty easy for me to read and I can not usually put them down until they are done. Books are a great thing in my opinion. Transporting you to another place and time and opening the doors to your imagination.

All men who have achieved great things have been great dreamers.
– orison Swett Marden

I try to tell Rose a story before bed every single night. Usually they are something I just make up off the top of my head, but she enjoys them. I hope she can find joy in reading and transport herself to a dreamland while she does so.

What are some of your favorite books?


This entry was posted in books, Family, Fatherhood, imagination. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fiction reveals truths that reality obscures.

  1. Those are some good classics. I’ll add to the list: Les Miserables, Great Expectations, The Giver, 1984, and…. anything by Stephen King 🙂

  2. daddygreen says:

    good choices, but I can only get into some of King’s titles

  3. Jared Karol says:

    Oh, man, books. . . I could go on and on. A big fan of Henry Miller, Kerouac, Celine, Knut Hamsun, Michelle Tea, James Baldwin, Randy Shilts, Hubert Selby. . .

  4. Katie says:

    I read to my son (through my belly) before he was born. I read to him every night at bedtime when he was in his crib. My mother never once turned on the tv to occupy his time when I went back to work but read him piles and piles of books instead.
    He started reading when he was 4 and has been going strong ever since. He loves books and constantly has one with him.
    We need more readers in the world.
    I was determined not to let my child grow up like my nephews and nieces, constantly bent over some technological game etc. The imagination is a terrible thing to waste.

    Sounds like your little one is going to love books too. 🙂
    That’s a win/win all the way around.

  5. Snake says:

    Just came acroos your blog and really enjoy it! I’ll be a regular visitor . . .

    Peace and love . . .

Leave a Reply

