Equality is the soul of liberty; there is, in fact, no liberty without it.

I hope my personal views of equality will pass down to Rose.  I apply them to all walks of life as I hope she does. No religion is better than another if they make you a better person, and doesn’t oppress another. No race is better than any other.

I hope she sees peoples differences as what makes them unique and tries to learn from them. whether  they be Asian

Black

Hispanic

Mutant

Crab People

Hey, you don’t know who you will meet out there.

Mutants and Crab People aside this post in particular is about Homosexuality. Gay marriage specifically.

I 100% support marriage, gay, straight, or otherwise. It is a wonderful thing that no person should be denied.  I was speaking with a co worker the other day “who was obviously against it” . So I asked him,

me: How long have you been married?

him: Going on five years.

Me: Yeah I have been married that long too. It is pretty great huh? I mean you loved someone so much that you wanted to make the ultimate commitment to each other. Celebrating your love for the whole world to see,. Telling your friends that you run into that this isn’t merely your girlfriend, but your wife, someone that will be with only you the rest of your life.

him: “nodding head in agreement” It is pretty awesome.

me: what if someone told you you couldn’t have that?

him: his face sunk a little.

I don’t think I changed his mind. Most people of his mind set can’t have their mind changed, but I at least stopped the argument before I got too upset. Love is Love people. The sooner the world can understand that ther better it will be for everyone.

I hope Rose will be able to recognize this. It doesn’t matter if you fall in love outside your race, gender, or possibly fall in love with a Crab Person “ouch” Love is pure and should not be tainted by hate.

Love conquers all.
-Virgil

This entry was posted in About Me, Family, Fatherhood, gay marriage, Humor, life, love, To Rosebud. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Equality is the soul of liberty; there is, in fact, no liberty without it.

  1. Viet says:

    It’s about time somebody spoke out about the rights of Crab People. They have been oppressed for so long with their delicious meat dipped in melted butter.

  2. Jack says:

    *sigh* you big ole softy you!

  3. Joel Gates says:

    I wish everyone shared your views on equality. Thomas Jefferson said “…but it does me no injury for my neighbor to say there are twenty gods or no God. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg.”
    I agree with him wholeheartedly. I point out the religous issue since that is the typical objection to gay marriage (though some people just object to homosexuality because hate is a comfortable place for them to be).
    As a longtime bleeding heart, leftist-leaning, liberal minded person I have tried to preach acceptance my whole life. Like yourself, I have met wth very little success. So I do the next best thing and try to practice it and hope it rubs off on my children and then their children and so forth and so on.

  4. Michelle says:

    So.. here is a question..or rather, an inquiry about your opinion (it’s long.. you got me thinking!):

    Growing up, I was raised in a Pentecostal environment (tongue-talkers) but my family sent me to Baptist schools. This caused a lot of conflict; I did not know who to believe.. my parents and church.. or my peers, teachers, and basically every other influential person in my small world. It caused me a lot of heartache when I was little.

    I have wondered about how to handle the issue you wrote about with Liam because I know the struggle I felt is going to come up in its own way because of the discrepancy between what Ryan and I believe and the rest of Liam’s family. Who is right? Mama and Papa or everyone else?

    I’ve thought about it a lot because respect is really the main value I hope to instill in Liam. I feel most problems are rooted in a lack of respect for others. And while I want him to form his own opinions about most things- this is one area that I truly do want to influence him significantly. No one taught me tolerance. It was an unspoken rule: respect was something reserved for those who earned it such as your parents, God, and the Republican Party. Anyone who did not agree with you was fair game for ridicule or pity. It was something I had to figure out for myself… and something I still struggle with (though now, my disrespect is often directed towards the sort of people I grew up with..which I feel is just as bad, really.)

    Anyway, your post got me thinking about this struggle and I was wondering how you would go about handling it?

    • daddygreen says:

      I hope to teach Rose the respect I have for others. Respect is fundamentally the best thing in my opinion.
      Liam, like Rose will have to decide what they think in best. I don’t want Rose to simply tolerate differences in others, I want her to embrace it, as I do. To tolerate the differences is to still think their ways are backwards and you being above them will allow it to be in your presence.
      I want her to decide for herself what she thinks is best for her and embrace those that do not feel the same way. What ever she and her siblings decide to do with their lives jobs, religion, sexuality, ect, they will be loved and supported by their parents. They will know that and be confident in their actions because of it.

      I am far from a Christian, but that does not mean I think Christians are ignorant. I respect their beliefs and hope they can respect mine.

      I embrace anyone’s beliefs so long as it is not holding others from believing in there selves.
      I do not believe there is a greater offense than making someone feel inferior because of who they are…

      The assertion that “all men are created equal” was of no practical use in effecting our separation from Great Britain and it was placed in the Declaration not for that, but for future use.
      -Abraham Lincoln

      I think that applies to all walks of American life. INCLUDING GAY MARRIAGE! Though I think your comment focused more on religion than anything else, am I right?

      • Michelle says:

        I was speaking specifically about gay marriage but I was using the differences in religion as an example for the sort of internal struggle I dealt with… which I am having a hard time deciding how to handle when it will come up for Liam.

        My family of origin is definitely against gay marriage and embarrassingly homophobic. To give you an example…while at lunch with my brother and his friend the other day, my brother told him friend that I “was going to be one of those moms who will even love Liam if he’s gay. And will like.. let him bring his boyfriend around and stuff.” The statement struck me as absurd- of course, I will still love Liam if he is gay. Of course I would want the person he loves to be a part of my life. But this is a completely foreign mentality in my family.

        I do not know exactly what your family’s values are.. but for me.. it is going to be a constant battle with certain things and I worry that Liam is going to feel the confusion I felt about who is telling the truth. On one hand, there are adults that hold a very important place in his life telling him that homosexuality is wrong, modeling behavior that says it is okay to judge people who are different than you.. and, on the other hand, he has Mama and Papa and other adults in his life telling him the opposite.

        So I was just wondering how you would handle a situation like that. When I would come to my parents with questions about why certain people disagreed with them the answer was just, “Well.. they are wrong.” And the implication was that they were stupid. I know there is a better way to handle it than that. I just haven’t quite figured it out yet.

  5. Jared Karol says:

    Joshua, I loved this post, and reading the comments that followed. Thank you for posting it. My father was gay and he died in 2000, long before the idea of gay marriage was seriously on the books. I live in Oakland, and in 2004, Gavin Newsome legalized gay marriage in the city of SF. I attended a gay wedding and it was magnificent. Of course that marriage and all the others were later annulled.

    I’m glad you’re raising your daughter to embrace not just tolerate differences. That is a key distinction, and one that I am quick to point out to people. Anyway, I won’t ramble any longer.

    Here is a link to a couple books we have in our house that our kids love:
    http://www.lesleakids.com/mommy.html

    Jared

  6. Michelle says:

    On a separate note: I find it interesting that the term “tolerance” has now earned a negative connotation when it comes to this issue. The evolution of the English language fascinates me in this way. Tolerance defined is not simply the act of enduring- it is also a fair and objective viewpoint of the differences in others as well as “interest in and concern for ideas, opinions, practices, etc., foreign to one’s own.” Yet, in this instance, the definition has been narrowed. That happens all the time and I find it really interesting. Anyway, that is my English major side coming out to play. Embrace is a much better verb, Josh. I like it.

    • daddygreen says:

      @Michelle, The way I look at it is this. There are family values and traditions that I hold dear and want passed on to Rose. However, there are also thjings about my family that I would not want passed on.
      You have your family, and then you have YOUR FAMILY. I have the people I came from thaT RAISED ME, AND THEN i HAVE MY WIFE AND DAUGHTER THAT ARE my family.
      If it is the same for you then like me it will not be easy, but you will have to grow your proverbial balls and tell your family you do not agree with them, and that such comments will not be tolerated around your son.
      I had to do that with my father (the man that could frighten Satan and God at the same time) and though he was a bit confused he respected that I was up front about it. It is not easy becoming a parent because a little part of you ceases to be a child, but it has to happen if you want Liam to feel free to express himself.

      If Nellie is different or gay or likes to worship the Gods of old it will be a cold day in hell before anyone family or not makes her feel belittled because of it,…

  7. daddygreen says:

    @Michelle, The way I look at it is this. There are family values and traditions that I hold dear and want passed on to Rose. However, there are also thjings about my family that I would not want passed on.
    You have your family, and then you have YOUR FAMILY. I have the people I came from thaT RAISED ME, AND THEN i HAVE MY WIFE AND DAUGHTER THAT ARE my family.
    If it is the same for you then like me it will not be easy, but you will have to grow your proverbial balls and tell your family you do not agree with them, and that such comments will not be tolerated around your son.
    I had to do that with my father (the man that could frighten Satan and God at the same time) and though he was a bit confused he respected that I was up front about it. It is not easy becoming a parent because a little part of you ceases to be a child, but it has to happen if you want Liam to feel free to express himself.

    If Nellie is different or gay or likes to worship the Gods of old it will be a cold day in hell before anyone family or not makes her feel belittled because of it,…

  8. Michelle says:

    I know that seems like such a simply solution but you have no idea how much you just helped me.

    I have seriously been struggling with this since I was pregnant. I worried about asking my parents to keep their beliefs about certain things to themselves because 1.) they have instilled the fear of God in me about contradicting them and I still have a very difficult time admitting to them that I hold different opinions and 2) their faith is such a central part of who they are that I almost felt it would be disrespectful to ask them to hold their tongues. But.. if something they believe is disrespectful then asking them to keep it to themselves is permissible- and I never thought of it like that before.

    Protecting Liam from that is so much more important than hurting their feelings as well.. and you are right: I need to grow a pair!

    I am very glad you wrote this post, Josh. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

