A night without Puffs, Cheerios, or sippie cups

Rose becoming an addition to this family has been the greatest thing that has happened in my life. I would not give it up for anything, and I can not imagine it being any other way.

It is hard to believe how much time and money we wasted before she was here.  She is approaching eleven months now and I can count on one hand how many times Natalie and I have had some one watch her so we could go have a dinner with just the two of us,. and she has never stayed the night somewhere else. I mean it. It has been less than five times in eleven months. If we went out to eat she came with us, or we just didn’t go.

So when we do go out with just the two of us we cherish it.  It is like we are dating again. Tomorrow night we are going to a local comedy club called The Comedy Catch to see my buddy Viet Huynh preform. We are both looking forward to a night without Puffs, Cheerios, or a sippie cup (though we will probably talk about her the whole time). These nights are like we are dating all over again. The difference is that Rose is our curfew.

We are leaving her with my Mom for a few hours while we have dinner, some laughs, and maybe an adult bev. Then we will be gathering her up and back home to put her to bed… We are going to have fun like this…

This entry was posted in Family, Fatherhood, friends, Humor, love, Natalie, wife. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A night without Puffs, Cheerios, or sippie cups

  1. Joel Gates says:

    Man, you gotta keep grabbing some time out with just you and the wife. It’s more important than you can possibly know.

  2. daddygreen says:

    we haven’t really noticed till we actually go out

  3. I agree it is so important to have time just the two of you. Make sure you always have that time together. Have fun tomorrow night.

  4. Shemaiah says:

    Enjoy your time!! I haven’t ever been away from the kids, aside from once when a friend watched ian for an hour while I was being part of research for maiah. Anyway, we haven’t had the luxury of date night in almost two years. I don’t even know what that would be like anymore! I hope you guys have a blast!

  5. Have fun!!! You guys deserve it!

  6. Michelle says:

    It is so interesting how different people are. I think I personally would lose my mind if I did not get out alone and/or with Ryan on a fairly regular basis. I wonder if Liam Eliot’s *ahem* unexpected arrival has anything to do with that? I am definitely not a mom who can say she can count on one hand how many times she has been away from her child. I hope you guys have fun!

  7. Katie says:

    Go out and have fun. You both deserve it!
    I bawled when we finally left my son overnight at my moms house when he was 2. I had great time reconnecting with my hubby though.

  8. daddygreen says:

    I appreciate all the feedback guys

  9. livadair says:

    Just got over to visit your blog- I am enjoying it! I can definitely relate to not getting out much- my husband and I don’t either but are trying to be purposeful about making it happen more. It is so important! Our oldest didn’t spend a night away from home until she was 2 1/2, and that was still with us in a hotel!

  10. Stumbled across your blog. Keep up the good work, and congrats on your beautiful family!

Leave a Reply

