The Hobbit in all of us

I have been reading The Hobbit to Rose every day that I am off for the past couple of weeks. So far it is the only book I have read to her that has held her interest. I dunno if it is the story its self , or if it is the voices I use when reading it.

The book was one of my favorites when I was a kid. I was reading it to her this morning and got to thinking. I thought of my favorite books and movies from my own childhood.  I can not wait to introduce her to all of them. I can not wait to see how nervous she get when we read Treasure Island.  I can not wait to see her shocked face when she discovers that Vader IS Luke’s father. Providing that she  likes any of these things at all I will get to relive all of those emotions through her.

However, for now we are reading The Hobbit. I know she is too young to understand it and that it is the voices that she likes, but that means I will have an excuse to read it again later.

I have called her my little Hobbit since she was born. She has a head full of curly hair, she was chubby, she loved  to eat, and she had that baby fuzz all over her body. Well now she also has their adventurous spirit.  She crawls and is into EVERYTHING, and everything she is into is a grand adventure.

Today she took two unassisted steps without holding onto the couch and I know that it is going to seem like mere moments before she is running, and getting into her adventures…

“It’s a dangerous business, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no telling where you might be swept off to.” -Bilbo Baggins

For now I am going to soak up her limited mobility and go clean the kitchen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Hobbit in all of us

  1. awwwwwwwwwww
    Don’t forget when you both fly away to Neverland and dress her up like Cinderella 🙂

    ps – daddy bloggers are so hot.

  2. daddygreen says:

    We will be in Neverland at least three times a week…

Leave a Reply

